The Sheboygan Spokesman

Volume XCVII, Number 46             District 6270           Club 2760           Week of June 30, 2008 

This Week's Message

Many club members and guests enjoyed a wonderful Changing of the Guard Dinner at Pine Hills on Tuesday evening (June 24).  THANK YOU to Kelly Heyn and the entire committee for an excellent job!

The RCS Picnic volunteer schedule is attached.  If you would like to help and you are not on the schedule, just join us at a time that looks like it could use some additional help.  THANK YOU to Adam Payne and to all who are being of service through volunteering for the picnic.     
Have a great week!

Deb / Tim

Note:  If you are looking to achieve 100% attendance for the Rotary year ending June 30, please contact Deb so we can verify your attendance for you.
920-726-4756 or

Program Calendar:

Last week, June 23:  No meeting (Changing of the Guard Dinner on June 24).

This week, June 30:  Dr. Paul Gruber -- Guatemala Medical Project

Next week, July 7:  Joan Kramer -- Red Cross Community Disaster Education Specialist

Sergeant At Arms:

June:  Jacob Kraus, Kristin Blanchard, Scott Luedke

(July:  Dan Baumann, Dan Gray, Jeanne Kobuszewski)


Bernie Nowicki -- Early Bird -- 6/2 & 6/9
Donna Wendlandt -- eClub -- 6/20

Various -- Changing of the Guard -- 2 makeups
Duane Winterberg -- eClub -- 6/24

Various guests at Changing of the Guard

Visiting Rotarians:
Mike Slawny -- Former District Governor

Meals on Wheels:
July 2:
Judy Slawny & Wayne Sather
John Rummele & J. Roger Miller

July 9:
Jeanne Kobuszewski & Ron Spapperi
Randy Roethel & Don Hammond

Upcoming Events: 

July 18 - Early Bird Rotary Club's Annual Lobster Boil Fundraiser, Fountain Park.  Advance tickets needed - see any member of Early Birds.  Corporate & individual sponsorships also available.

Wednesday, July 30 - Sheboygan Rotary Club Family Night at the A's Game (no meeting on July 28).  Details:  Dave Hoffman,  452-6001 or  

September 27, 5:00 - 9:00 p.m. - Sheboygan West 2nd Annual Brew Fest Fundraiser - Heritage Aviation Center at the Airport.  Brett Goebel:  920-912-5874.

Al Grube -- July 2
John Eddy -- July 4
Steve Scharrer -- July 4
Harold Ribich -- July 5
Mike Basch -- July 6


President: Tim Van Akkeren
President-Elect: Greg Weggeman
Vice President: Pat Lacey
Secretary: Deb Bruckschen
Treasurer: Tom Liebl
Sergent-at-Arms: Ed Wackowski/
Marshall Horne
Past President: Judy Marquardt


Club Service I: Charlene Lammers
Club Service II: Ryan Gartman 
Club Service III: Steve Stauber 
Vocational Service: Ron Spapperi
Community Service: Mary Pitsch 
International Service: Carolyn Suchocki 

Program Chairs

1st Qtr: Darryl Gumm
2nd Qtr: Pat Pendergast 
3rd Qtr: Dirk Zylman
4th Qtr: Randy Roethel


Invocator Chairs

1st Qtr: Steve Scharrer 
2nd Qtr: Kelly Heyn 
3rd Qtr: Bernie Nowicki 
4th Qtr: Saunders Kohn  

Bulletin Editor

Deb Bruckschen


Foundation Trustees

Gary Maples
Greg Weggeman
Gerry Van De Kreeke
Donna Wendlandt
Lance Northey
Jeff Mehn
Deb Wente
Don Hammond
Bernie Nowicki
Tim Van Akkeren

Recognition Chairs

1st Qtr: Mike Vandersteen 
2nd Qtr: Tim Kaker 
3rd Qtr: Pete Schils
4th Qtr: Paul Gruber 


Don Hammond


Make Up Meeting Absences Two Weeks Before of After at:
M Port Washington Nisleits' Country Inn  12 Noon
M Fond du Lac Holiday Inn 12 Noon
M Two Rivers Lighthouse Inn 12 Noon
M West Bend Cedar Campus 3rd Floor 12 Noon
T Grafton Sunrise Baymont Inn & Suites 7:15 a.m.
T Manitowoc Sunrise The Bistro at Felician Village  7:00 a.m.
T Sheboygan West KC Hall 12 Noon
T Mequon/Thiensville Ozaukee Country Club, Mequon 12 Noon
W Plymouth Plymouth Family Restaurant 12 Noon
Th Fond du Lac Morning Ramada Hotel 7:00 a.m.
Th Sheboygan Early Birds Al & Al's 7:00 a.m.
Th Manitowoc Holiday Inn  12 Noon
Th Grafton Heinemann's Restaurant 12:15 p.m.
Th Cedarburg Gaioto's 12:15 p.m.
F Mequon/Thiensville Sunrise St. Mary's Hospital 7:00 a.m.
  Electronic Makeup